10 Super Specific Emotions You Feel That Actually Have Names

April 20, 2020

Do you ever feel things that you’re never able to tell anyone about, not that you don’t want to but because you can’t put those feelings into words? Well, you’re not the only one. We’re here today with 10 new words and phrases that’ll help expand your emotional literacy.

The false sensation of insects crawling all over your body.

That feeling of constantly thinking your phone is ringing or vibrating but it really isn’t.

That uncomfortable feeling you get in your stomach when you’re anxious.

The increasing urge to pee or poop the closer you get to a toilet.

You when someone holds a baby and goes, “Oh my God. He’s so cute. I could just eat him up!”? That’s what cute aggression is. The urge to squeeze, smoosh, or eat something you find ridiculously cute.

The psychological phenomenon of repeating a word over and over (in your mind or out loud) until it becomes meaningless.

The feeling of walking into a room and forgetting why you went in there.

Call of the Void is that thing that happens when you’re in a potentially dangerous situation and you suddenly get a weird mental prompt that pushes you to harm yourself. For example, you’re standing on the roof of a building or a bridge and you suddenly get the prompt to “JUMP!”.

The strange thing is that you don’t even have to be suicidal for this to happen.

This, in my opinion, is the best name for what you feel when you have goosebumps i.e waves of pleasure coursing over your skin. It’s an involuntary physical reaction that’s triggered by audio or visual stimuli.

A state of mind which results from a romantic attraction to another person. It usually includes obsessive thoughts, fantasies and a desire to form or maintain a relationship with the object of love and have one’s feelings reciprocated.

What’s up, Zikoko Fam? It would mean the world to us if you spared a few minutes to fill this Reader Survey. It’s so we can bring you the content you really want!

Astor George

Join The Conversation

Bring a friend.

You'll like this

How was your night
March 9, 2020

For the life of me, I have never understood why people ask ‘how was your night’. What response do these special people expect when they ask this? Do they think I’ll sit them down and explain that my eye is twitching because I spent all night binge-watching Assistant Madams and writing a thesis as to […]

Watch

Now on Zikoko

April 30, 2020

First, we asked you to identify the capitals of all 54 African countries, and you guys killed it. Then, we asked you to identify those same countries by their flags alone, and you struggled a bit. Then, we gave you the toughest one yet: matching African countries to their currencies. Now, we are back with presidents of African countries […]

April 29, 2020

Ladies, see our lives on these streets… Just two months ago, we were the cream of the crop, nails done, hair done, everything did. Getting bi-weekly pedicures,waxes and deep conditioning treatments was such a given, the idea that it would be taken away from us seemed almost laughable, and yet, again: We spoke to 6 […]

Recommended Quizzes

November 27, 2019

Do you have a face that could make angels jealous, or should you really be walking around with a nylon bag over your head so you don’t scare children? Well, this quiz is here to answer that by telling you exactly how good-looking you are. Take and find out:

November 20, 2019

Last month, we thoughtfully made a quiz telling you guys exactly when you’ll marry, but some of you claimed that your spouse was nowhere to be found. Well, now we’ve created one that’ll tell you exactly who you’ll be dragging down that aisle. Take and start planning that wedding:

More from Inside Life

April 29, 2020

The full meaning of SAED is Skill Acquisition and Entrepreneurship Development. It is an important part of the NYSC orientation activities. The government understands that there are a lot of unemployed youths, and that with each graduation, this number rises. Hence, the role of SAED as a means to equip youth with skills that will […]

Watch

Trending Videos

Zikoko Originals

March 12, 2020
Life is already hard. Deciding where to eat and get the best lifestyle experiences, isn't something you should stress about. Let VRSUS do that for you.
February 6, 2020
Who doesn't want to find love? In our bid to help, we paired up a bunch of single Nigerians, sending them on an all-expense paid date, and interviewing them before and after they met.
January 27, 2020
Nigerians Talk is what happened when a motley crew of young Nigerians were put in front of a camera and asked a bunch of apparently random questions about life, love, money and more.
April 9, 2019
HER is a bite-sized show that focuses on girls and women across Africa with interesting and inspiring stories.
April 8, 2019
Zikoko Creators highlights dope people, doing and creating great things that make a difference.
April 8, 2019
UNDERGROUND is a performance series showcasing emerging musicians we believe you should pay attention to.

Z! Stacks

Here's a rabbit hole of stories to lose yourself in:

Zikoko amplifies African youth culture by curating and creating smart and joyful content for young Africans and the world.
X